Wednesday, 18 April 2018

Today's Review: Sprite Lemon, Lime & Cucumber


I don't really understand cucumber. I mean, I don't hate it, I'm more indifferent to it. I'll eat it if it's in a salad, but I won't go out of my way to consume it. It just seems so pointless, it's mostly water, it doesn't taste good, but it keeps popping up everywhere. Take this bottle of Sprite for instance. If you asked me what would be a good addition to Sprite, I would go with another fruity flavour. Not in a million years would I suggest sticking cucumber in there. But here we are.

What more can I say? This is Sprite with cucumber flavour added. It's a variation on Sprite Zero, so I guess this is something to appeal to those on a health kick. I must say, it does taste a bit like cucumber, but that flavour overwhelms everything else. The lemon and lime are muted, and altogether it makes for a pretty bland drink that tastes a bit too much like cucumber. Not a great variation, I look to Sprite for my lemonade fix, not to get a cucumber experience. Stay out of my soft drinks.

My rating: 2/5

Tuesday, 17 April 2018

Today's Review: Remembering The Wattage Of My Microwave

I'm not a stupid man. I know things, and I can remember things too. I can recall phone numbers, car registrations, bank details, and even some poetry. But one thing I can never remember is the little number on the door of my microwave.

I mean, I don't really rely on my microwave a lot, but I use it enough that I should know the wattage. But every time I stick a frozen food item in there, I have to double check before I set the time. It's an annoying black hole in my memory, one that doesn't affect my day to day life, but provides me with a short burst of frustration every time I need to nuke something. I'm sure I'm not the only one. Can anyone tell me the wattage of their microwave? Without looking? Yeah, didn't think so. It's impossible to remember.

My rating: 0/5

Monday, 16 April 2018

Today's Review: Toblerone Crispy Coconut


I finally managed to get my hands on this coconut Toblerone as a belated birthday present. I've had my eye on it for some time, especially as my love of coconut has grown recently. Basically, it's a regular Toblerone, but with added coconut pieces. It's a good addition though, an extra bit of crunch with a bold, natural coconut taste. It's a little overly sweet, especially with the almond nougat still in place, but the coconut does prevail, making for a great overall flavour. A smooth, chocolatey coconut treat, a pretty unique Toblerone.

My rating: 4/5


Sunday, 15 April 2018

Today's Review: Naipo Portable Massager Seat Cushion


I was recently sent another product from Naipo, purveyor of some pretty fine massager products. Here we have a vibrating seat cushion, which is a little bigger than the others I've reviewed, but one I was excited to try out. This cushion contains eight vibrating massage points, as well a heat function, because heat is always good. Portability is the main selling point with the cushion, as it even comes with a car charger in the box.


Well, portable it is, it's very slimline, I'm surprised they've managed to fit all the vibration and heat pads into such a small space, while still making it comfortable to sit on. The cushion is easy to fold up, and comes equipped with straps to make it easy to put onto any seat you desire. Or you could just lay it down in the bed and do it that way, it's very versatile.


So let's get down to the massage itself. This cushion comes equipped with a rather comprehensive remote, which provides a lot of options. You can choose to focus on one or many of the four areas, so you can go for purely upper back, or just turn on everything and get all over vibration. There are also preset programs, which cycle through the areas, ramping up in intensity and slowing down, and just leaving the cushion to do its stuff lets it cycle through every program and gives good all over coverage. You can turn the heat on and off, change the speed of vibration, there's as much versatility in the remote as there is in the cushion itself.

I really like this cushion, you can put it pretty much anywhere, and it's slimline enough to pack away when not in use. The remote has a wide variety of options, and it provides a pretty decent massage. What I would say is that this doesn't give as deep a massage as other products, there are no kneading nodes, it's pure vibration. But what this lacks in deep tissue massage, it makes up for in portability and versatility. I've tried a couple of massage cushions before, and this one is a fantastic lightweight option.

My rating: 5/5

Buy the Naipo portable seat cushion here, and use the code V4KHMGBK for a further £10 off until 30/04/2018

You can also use the code R9PW4VRC to get £20 off this massager pillow until 30/04/2018, bringing the price down to £9.99

Saturday, 14 April 2018

Today's Review: A Quiet Place


I must not have been the only one who felt horrors and thrillers were getting a bit stale, there seems to be a new trend in what I like to call "sensory deprivation" movies, which have introduced some neat ideas to the horror genre. We had Don't Breathe, which involved people trying to escape from a blind murderous man, and Hush, in which a deaf woman is terrorised by a man who can creep up on her without her hearing, obviously. Now we have A Quiet Place, which takes this idea into a post-apocalyptic setting. The story revolves around a family, headed by real life spouses Emily Blunt and John Krasinski, who attempt to survive in a world ravaged by horrifying creature who are blind but extremely sensitive to sound. Make a noise and you're pretty much dead, so as you can imagine, they need to live in a quiet place. Hey, that's the name of the movie!

This movie is tense, there's no doubt about it. For the small glimpses of the creatures that you're treated to towards the beginning of the movie, it's clear why silence is of the utmost importance, and that looming threat is present throughout the entire film, obviously building up and spilling over the top on the way. The sound design is incredible, every single footstep and moved object is perfectly audible, and put me on edge as to what would be a loud enough noise to draw attention. When the action kicks in, it's edge of your seat stuff, moments where a noise is made and the characters are trying their very best to hide and stay silent. It's not so much a scary horror as a perpetually tense thriller.

At the heart of the story is the one family who are trying their best to survive. The daughter is deaf, you see, so they can communicate very effectively through signs, and despite there being very little dialogue throughout the movie, emotions are portrayed wonderfully, with each character managing to convey their personalities in the way they sign. There are a handful of characters here, but they're all pretty wonderfully cast, and the relationships between them are very real and often emotional. There's an especially nice touch where the sound switches to what the deaf daughter hears, or rather does not hear, which really fits into the theme of the movie as a whole and serves to rack up the suspense.

So a great concept, fleshed out with some great characters played by wonderful actors. A Quiet Place is well worth seeing. It's not the perfect movie, it takes perhaps a little too long for things to build up. It's good for setting up the characters, but I feel some of it was unnecessary in the long run, there could have been a bit less exposition and I still would have felt the same connection to the family. But still, a minor complain in what is otherwise a breath of fresh air to the genre. Check it out.

My rating: 4/5

Friday, 13 April 2018

Today's Review: Starburst Summer Splash


Here's a quick little review of another variety of Starburst I picked up recently. This one carries a summer theme, with four different fruity flavours that apparently resonate with the season. We have lemon lime, cherry cooler, strawberry watermelon and grape slushie. An interesting sounding range of flavours, though in practice they're not all that. The lemon lime has a citrus hint, but is lacking in any real tartness, the strawberry watermelon is more strawberry and less watermelon. As for the cherry and grape, they have those overly artificial fruit flavours which leaves the cherry tasting a bit like a bakewell tart, and the grape not tasting like real grapes at all. So they're not really authentic fruit flavours, and I wouldn't say they conjure up images of the season in my mind. Overly sweet Starburst that are lacking in authentic flavour.

My rating: 2/5

Thursday, 12 April 2018

Today's Review: Müller Bliss Salted Caramel


Bliss corners are probably my favourite Müller dessert, fantastically creamy yoghurt with a decent helping of tasty fruit compote. Now there's something a little different in the form of this limited edition salted caramel. There's a nice little portion of salted caramel sauce to swirl into your whipped yoghurt, and while the packaging says it's just "salted caramel flavoured" I must say it's pretty authentic. It's smooth and sweet, with a great little salty kick that's hard to find in other "salted caramel" products. All mixed together it makes for a pretty great dessert, one that shouldn't just be left as a limited edition. Track it down while you can.

My rating: 5/5